What User Experience Research and Design Ethnography NIGHTMARES are made of… Is your post-it note analysis out of control?

What User Experience Research and Design Ethnography NIGHTMARES are made of... Is your post-it note analysis out of control?

What User Experience Research and Design Ethnography NIGHTMARES are made of… Is your post-it note analysis out of control?

Just ask yourself is your love or dependency on post-it notes supported by your results or does it hinder elegant and efficient thinking?

I am about to embark on a serious round of solo analysis of in depth video and audio interviews / observations next week. I am really excited to dive back into the world of swirling coloured post-it notes and delightful affinity maps of themes or patterns… BUT, what-if it is not the best way to go about a qualitative analysis. Do I dare doubt our beloved post-it notes? I will do it this time like I have always done it because its been a while and I am rusty and I don’t have time to think of another method. This time instead, I will begin the thinking process to expand the ways of analysis in my toolbox without completely abandoning precious post-its. Time to grow and develop me thinks. Master Yoda once said, “The fear of loss is a path to the Dark Side.” No my precious post-its I won’t abandon you, I may just repurpose my relationship with you.

Leave a Reply

