Wallabies are warru where I am going

I am going to the outback. No, this is not a holiday, though I am taking holiday leave to accomplish this. No, I am not going to Uluru (Ayer’s Rock) to eat Kangaroo. No, I am not a tourist. Though it is nice to be touristy sometimes, its never really been my style, I tend to assimilate instead.

I am joining an expedition to trap endangered black-flanked rock wallabies for cross-breeding. So where do Black-Flanked Rock Wallabies live? Well deep into the bush, in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara. Yep, that’s where I am headed. See you in a week and a half.

This is a Wallaby a.k.a.Warru at the Monarto Zoo

 

2 thoughts on “Wallabies are warru where I am going

  1. haha just to straighten out we dont cross breed, at the beginning of the program we collected pouch young or baby wallabies and took them back to the zoo to put in the pouch of another species of wallaby so that they become a surrogate mum. this is because we dont have many of the endangered warru in captivity and taking babies has the least impacton the wild population.

  2. either way… have a great trip Alicia! it sounds like it will be enjoyable and rewarding, and I think it’s a worthwhile and important thing to do!

    Looking forward to reading about it when you get back!

    –k

Leave a Reply

